We respect your email privacy

Canon 60D Preview

Jared Polin August 26, 2010 12

Here is a preview of the just announced Canon 60D DSLR body. Expect a lot more Canon reviews, unboxing and Sniff tests as we move forward,

Here are the specs on this just announced camera with my thoughts. To get your name on the list to own one please call Allen @ Allen’s Camera 215.547.2841 Tell them the fro sent you.

18 MP APS-C CMOS sensor
Nice Sensor, will give you some pretty good Hi-ISO performance and solid video.

Advanced creative features with Basic +
I am not a fan of in camera corrections or editing, why edit on a 3 inch screen when you have something better at home.

Vari-angle 7.7cm (3.0”) 3:2 ratio LCD
Cool idea, but not very practical for shooting photos, good for low or high angle video shooting.

Full HD movies with manual control
Great feature to have all the different HD frame rates as well as audio mic input for better quality.

DIGIC 4
Same processor as other canon cameras

ISO 100-6400, H:12800
Huge range, quality probably falls apart around 3200 will have to test one out to see.

5.3fps shooting for up to 58 JPEGs
Would like to know how many RAW frames you can bugger opposed to Jpeg

9-point cross type AF System
A major FAIL as this is an old AF system that was in the 50d.

iFCL metering with 63-zone Dual-layer Sensor
New metering system this is a good thing

Integrated Speedlite transmitter
This is something the nikons have done for a while

In-camera RAW processing
A joke, do not edit your raw files in the camera!!!!

Please Share and Enjoy:
  • digg Canon 60D Preview
  • delicious Canon 60D Preview
  • facebook Canon 60D Preview
  • yahoobuzz Canon 60D Preview
  • twitter Canon 60D Preview
  • googlebookmark Canon 60D Preview
  • email link Canon 60D Preview
  • linkedin Canon 60D Preview
  • reddit Canon 60D Preview

12 Comments »

  1. Robert Price August 26, 2010 at 12:27 pm -

    Good review Jared. I think that Canon could have skipped making this camera altogether. most of the added features are a bit hokey IMHO. Also I would have liked to seen the newer focusing system in the D60. Oh well can’t have it all, but I can dream.

    • Jared Polin August 26, 2010 at 12:29 pm -

      I agree mostly, these companies need something in a range to try and entice people to get them. The lack of upgrading the focus is a major Fail. When i watched their promo video and their focus was on the in camera editing features you knew it was a pos. Congrats on the moderator position.

  2. lopezae33 August 26, 2010 at 12:31 pm -

    whats the price of the D90 replacement? body only

    • Jared Polin August 26, 2010 at 12:33 pm -

      It has not been announced yet but I would think the same $1100

  3. Adam August 26, 2010 at 12:37 pm -

    Epic fail by canon.. wishing for the 5dmkiii get a camera with an archaic AF system. I’m sticking with my 7D but still waiting for a new FF Canon with great ISO otherwise I may switch to Nikon

    • Jared Polin August 26, 2010 at 12:38 pm -

      @adam you are welcome to play with the d3s anytime to see the power of Hi-ISO and I expect the d700 replacement to be AMAZING.

  4. Robert Rightmyer August 26, 2010 at 1:02 pm -

    I’m still plugging away with my 20D. One annoying characteristic of this camera is the shutter release sound. The clapping of the mirror is not just loud but clattery. I hope Canon has done something about this. Have you noticed anything about the sound of the new model or how it compares to Nikon? Some auto makers know that exhaust sound can be tuned to add to the driving experience. An expensive camera should have a quality sound.

  5. Lamar August 26, 2010 at 1:36 pm -

    how do you think this camera wowuld fair against the 7D? and you’re gonna do a video about the Nikon D7000 right??

  6. guunther1 August 26, 2010 at 4:33 pm -

    hardly a 50d upgrade.. its a pentaprism rebel you can actually hold on to xD

  7. robert d August 26, 2010 at 7:25 pm -

    my first cam was a powershot a620, i’ve had a powershot s5is for around 3 years now. I love the vari-angle screen on these p&s cameras, and said that if canon ever made an slr with one i would buy it. i understand that the 60D is not pro quality, and has less features than the higher end models, but i’m not a pro. i know many people who own Rebels and are pleased with them (they aren’t pros either), and since the D60 is supposed to be in between the Rebels and the pro models i’m thinking the D60 should more than adequate for me. would there be any reason why the vari-angle lcd on this slr not work as well for me as it has with my p&s cams? i have never used the viewfinder, it’s annoying with glasses, and i’ve never had a problem seeing the lcd.

  8. Adam August 26, 2010 at 8:58 pm -

    @Jared I was so close to switching from the 7d to nikon d700 earlier this year. The only thing that stopped me was knowing that the d700 was to be replaced soon.. well that and the fact that i’d lose a ton of dough on the glass I have already bought. I am in utter shock that canon would release another camera with that 9 point AF.. just blows my mind. The 19 pnt on the 7d had enough troubles (atleast mine did)

  9. Kyle August 26, 2010 at 10:03 pm -

    The biggest difference then with the rebel and 60d is the 60d is going to have to dials so shooting manual will be easier