We respect your email privacy

WEEK of July 12th PREVIEW RAW VS JPEG VS KEN WEEK

Jared Polin July 12, 2010 18

During the week of July 12th 2010 on FroKnowsPhoto.com I will be showing why RAW is the way to shoot.

There will be interviews with pros, screen flows showing why the RAW is better than the same image captured as a JPEG. I will be dispelling the myths that Ken Rockwell and many other photographers are putting out there.

18 Comments »

  1. nick July 12, 2010 at 2:13 am -

    Can’t wait for the Ken Rockwell smackdown

    • Jared Polin July 12, 2010 at 2:30 am -

      IT IS HERE!!!!!!

  2. Scott Davis July 12, 2010 at 2:47 am -

    It’s a no contest Fro!!! im already converted to RAW after one of your rants and a few experiments.
    I can’t wait to hear about the Rockwell smackdown either , as he is the tool who made me soil my pants , saying the D3000 sucked….with Raw editing capabilities and some fast glass , worlds your oyster!!!
    Cheers Fro

    • Jared Polin July 12, 2010 at 2:50 am -

      Thats why i bought a d3000 because he said i shouldn’t!!!!!

  3. Anthony Firmin July 12, 2010 at 6:21 am -

    Although there is some really good info on the KR site, he does does talk complete and utter bollocks (English phrase).
    I’ve been shooting RAW for 6 years and refuse to shoot jpg – I LOVE RAW!!! It is just infinitely better!!
    He also bangs on about how everything should be measured against his D40 too – what is that all about? It was a great camera when it came out, its an okay camera now!!
    And he is wrong to say the D3000 sucks too and Scott is absolutely right – the world is your oyster Scot!!!
    As I can’t even afford a D3000 at present I am going to stick with my D2X, shoot RAW and use the fastest glass I can lay my hands on!!

    • Jared Polin July 12, 2010 at 10:43 am -

      right on!!!!

  4. Peter Dudek aka Wishmaster July 12, 2010 at 6:22 am -

    Who is this guy anyway, a D3000 exterminator? can’t wait lol :P.

  5. Matthew July 12, 2010 at 8:21 am -

    Oh man Ken Rockwell makes me vomit.

  6. Anthony July 12, 2010 at 9:30 am -

    Generally what Ken Rockwell says, I will do the opposite. I tried his advice and recommendations and found him wrong more than he is ever right.

  7. Richie July 12, 2010 at 12:37 pm -

    Another reason I love ya Jared, we’ve debated for a long time but I have finally made a 100% conversion to your dark side, and am not to sorry to say your right, probably first time in 10 years I’ve admitted that so enjoy it while ya can, haha. Keep up the good work homie.

    • Jared Polin July 12, 2010 at 1:02 pm -

      Well you are now aloud to wear an “I shoot RAW” shirt.

  8. Marcus July 12, 2010 at 1:23 pm -

    Ken will ask for money to do the interview to help support his family.

    • Jared Polin July 12, 2010 at 1:35 pm -

      I will say ken is a great family man and is a really really nice guy. Just his views on pro photography are way off and point beginners in the wrong directions in my opinion.

  9. chris July 12, 2010 at 4:46 pm -

    i recently did my first photo shoot at a motorsport event i met a lot of pros(they only talked to me because of the big lens i was using they would not have given me time of day otherwise)what suprised me they nearly all shoot JPEG they say that RAW takes up to much room they ask me why i shot RAW i told them the points jared was saying they told that if i got it right in the camera then i would not need to re-touch in lightroom.And that lightroom was for people who cant set up a camera.They made me feel a little stupid!!!.Why is that alot of pros have there head up there own ASS!!.I wish all the pros was like jared not to belittle us beginners but to encuridge.i dont want blow smoke up his ass i tell it as i find!!!(he took the time to send me an email saying one of my photos was awesome it made my day!! and it was only taken on my web cam LOL!!!)i have been on kens website it is good but he comes accross like the pros i have just met if you dont know all the lingow TUFF!!.Its great to get into the mind of a pro that has a great sence of humour and the pashion that jared does. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!
    From a beginner who can’t set up a camera that shoots in RAW!!!………

    • Jared Polin July 12, 2010 at 6:02 pm -

      Those guys just dont get it honestly, they just dont, but thats ok, your doing a great job and getting better.

  10. gregDT July 13, 2010 at 5:46 pm -

    They shoot jpg as they will be shooting literally thousands of images during a motor sport weekend. They need to get those images in front of a picture editor within hours of them being shot. None of them will be going in a frame on the wall. They’ll go into news print or magazines. It’s very much a case of quantity and speed over quality. In their world there is an argument for shooting jpg. They might have had the courtesy to mention this to you.

    I suspect they were all there to make money not masterpieces. They were ‘taking photo’s’ and not ‘making pictures’. That’s one of the main differences IMHO between jpg and raw. You TAKE photo’s in jpg but you MAKE pictures in raw.

  11. Jaime Jesse Lazzaro July 14, 2010 at 3:54 pm -

    I recently saw one of your videos (about a month and a half ago) and since then slowly but surely I have made the transition to RAW , I still got a lot questions , and now I take twice the time to look and edit my photos , but I love how I can manipulate it , and dude I don’t know shit about RAW manipulation

    By the way , do you have a step by step RAW editing tutorial , I will love to see it (an Idiot proof version)

    Thanks dude , keep on rockin , cheers from Tijuana Mexico

  12. Don November 10, 2010 at 2:00 pm -

    I just stumbled upon your site yesterday. The reason I delved deeper is that I noticed your Ken Rockwell stuff. Pretty amusing. I like KR so I was interested in hearing someone who’s not a big fan of his make a reasonable argument against him. I’m sure you probably point out in your videos that it’s counterproductive in almost anything to choose one path exclusively. Shooting Jpeg has pros and cons just like shooting RAW. I’m not a pro. I just find Jpegs less of a hassle for pics of my family and other general screwing around. I do shoot RAW on occasion when I feel like being a “photographer.” I also use my iPhone camera a lot when I feel like just getting out of my own way. The pics aren’t as technically perfect, but it lets me think only about making a picture.